Northbound have just released their new EP, The Flaws In Everything, via Animal Style Records.

I’ve always understood Northbound to primarily be the creative work of Jonathon Fraser, but it took until recently for me to fully realize that it’s both a solo acoustic project, as well as a full-band. Just before my first listen to The Flaws In Everything, Northbound released a video about the recording process that best explained this. Fraser said, ‘These songs, regardless if they end up acoustic or full-band, they’re all approached from a songwriting perspective. At the end of the day, I just write songs.’ Northbound is acoustic when it needs to be, and full-band when it can be. Another focal point of the video that Fraser shared was that this is a very introspective EP, which I found to be true from the first track.

The Flaws In Everything consists of five massive hits. Although the lyrics are catchy and will probably be yelled along at shows, the words of self-deprecation and a lust for change aren’t what stands out most from this EP. The rhythms these words are laid upon, Fraser’s vocals, and the overall cohesive sonic pleasure received from every listen to this EP are what will keep many, like myself, coming back. The lyrics will undoubtedly be relatable for those experiencing similar thinking patterns, but I have a feeling that Fraser’s best writing is still to come, and will likely show up on Northbound’s next release. Nevertheless, The Flaws In Everything is sure to rank highly on my list of favorite 2017 EPs.

After jamming the first three tracks, we come across the acoustic song of the EP, “Lonely Squid.” Some light percussion and electric lead guitar dance over the acoustic rhythms as Fraser sings, ‘And we melt,’ and listeners will do just that. Northbound made this track feel just as full and fitting as the others. “Tell Me Something Good” closes The Flaws In Everything by building up to be one of the most significant songs to have come from Northbound, so far. This release is sure to turn heads, and has me ready for what’s to come from the future of Northbound.

The Flaws In Everything: physical copies | Bandcamp | iTunes | Spotify

Northbound: Twitter | Facebook | website

Written by Cassie Wilson
Cassie Wilson is the founder of Sick Snaps, and an avid writer. Her favorite artists are constantly changing, but typically include: A Will Away, Knuckle Puck, The Maine, Homesafe, Glacier Veins, Lorde, and Julien Baker. Aside from Sick Snaps, Cassie is also the founder of Half Access, an organization advocating for increased accessibility at concert venues.